Kia ora and welcome to the subject guide for Digital Media and Design.
Growing up in Alphabet City: the Unexpected Letterform Art of Michael Doret by 
Jean-Michel Basquiat. 40th Ed by 
Beginner's Guide to Digital Painting in Procreate by 
Creative Character Design for Games and Animation by 
Design: the definitive visual history by 
*The O’Reilly logo is a registered trademark of O’Reilly Media, Inc. Used with permission.
O'Reilly offers online 24/7 full-text access to current e-books
To learn how to access see the O'Reilly Guide
See ProQuest eBooks tab.
To learn how to access see the ProQuest eBooks Guide
Becoming a Video Game Designer by 
The Art of Game Design by The Library has many resources to help you make your projects and assignments the best they can be! The best way to start looking for information is to think first about what you want to find. Are you looking for something for inspiration or an assignment?
The Library is located at Te Auaha (ground level) by the Gallery. Our resources cover animation, computer graphics, communication, digital media, typography, art, drawing, graphic design, painting, photography, film and video gaming, along with other topics related to your studies.
To find resources you can browse the shelves or search the Library catalogue to request them. Go to the Library homepage and type a known title or keywords in the search field.
Relevant to creative technologies are: Proquest eBook Central which covers many arts and humanities related disciplines, and O'Reilly with e-books and video tutorials relating to film, television, and design. There are also collections of e-books, journals and databases including EBSCO Host databases Art and Architecture Complete, Computers and Applied Sciences Complete and others. More information on accessing e-books and databases can be found here.
For searching tips and strategies go to the Finding information and Research tab.
You can also access books which aren't part of the collection through the SMART library network. The network allows you to borrow books held in some regional libraries through the Whitireia/Weltec system.
You also have access to ETV through the Library! There's a link to it below. ETV (Education TV) is a service where you can watch shows from a variety of sources which may have appeared on broadcast television at an earlier date.
eTV provides programmes recorded off-air from domestic and international television and internet channels that can be viewed and downloaded.
There are many documentaries, films, and television series available. To access and browse go to the ETV homepage and enter your WelTec or Whitireia email address and password.
Click image to access the film My Father's dragon
Pictured Worlds: masterpieces of children's book art by 101 essential illustrators from around the world by 
The bird king and other sketches by 
Creature : Paintings, Drawings and Reflections by 
This guide has a selection of resources to support Kaupapa Māori
If you need a helping hand...
Ask the Library staff! Your subject specialist librarians are located at the Te Auaha Library, or you can email or call us to make an appointment or ask questions.
Understand our obligations under the Copyright Act 1994 New Zealand Legislation.
See: Copyright Guide
New Zealand
GS1 NZ (Barcode standards)
New Zealand Game Developers Association
Photographic Society of New Zealand
Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand
International
Song of the sea short animation
Song of the sea- Visual Analysis
