Kia orana, Noa’ia, Talofa lava, Mauri, Mālō e lelei, Tālofa, Ni Sa Bula Vinaka, Fakaalofa lahi atu, Mālō ni and Welcome to the subject guide for Nursing Pacific.
It provides books, journal articles, databases, websites and multimedia resources relevant to your study and research.
Hauora: Report on Stage One of the Health Services and Outcomes Kaupapa Inquiry (WAI 2575). Also a physical copy is available in the library at 362.1 WAI
Kāinga Kore: The Stage One Report of the Housing Policy and Services: Kaupapa Inquiry on Māori Homelessness (WAI 2750) available in the library at 362.5 NEW
Article
The Waitangi Tribunal’s WAI 2575 report: Implications for decolonizing health systems
Frameworks
A Framework for Health Literacy. The Ministry of Health developed this framework because it is committed to a health system that enables everyone living in New Zealand to live well and keep well. Building health literacy is an important part of this.
Nga Vaka o Kāiga Tapu: A Pacific Conceptual Framework to address family violence in New Zealand
The New Zealand Health Research Prioritisation Framework. This framework was developed as part of the implementation of the New Zealand Health Research Strategy 2017–2027. It prioritises how and why health research needs to be done in New Zealand in order to drive high-level health and social outcomes and ensure maximum impact from the government’s investment in health.
Oranga Hinengaro System and Service Framework identifies the core components of a contemporary mental health and addiction system with a 10-year view. It provides guidance for those responsible for publicly funded health system policy, design, service commissioning, and delivery.
Tapasā: Cultural Competencies Framework for Teachers of Pacific Learners. Tapasā is a resource that provides a Pacific learner lens to Our Code, Our Standards.
Te Tiriti o Waitangi Framework. The Ministry of Health’s Te Tiriti o Waitangi (Te Tiriti) Framework provides an updated expression of the Crown’s Te Tiriti obligations in the context of the health and disability system.
Guidelines
Healthy Eating Guidelines for New Zealand Babies and Toddlers (0-2 years old). Provides updated population health recommendations for feeding babies and toddlers, from birth to two years of age, to promote healthy growth and development and help establish healthy eating behaviours.
Talking Therapies for Pasifika Peoples. A practice guide for mental health and addiction services which predominately presents ways of working with Pasifika individuals and their families.
Strategies
Child and Youth Wellbeing Strategy sets out a shared understanding of what children and young people need and want in order to be well, what government is and should be doing to support them, and how we must work together.
Developing the National Breastfeeding Strategy for New Zealand Aotearoa. Addresses barriers to establishing and maintaining breastfeeding in Aotearoa New Zealand.
Living Well, Dying Well: A strategy for a palliative care approach - A summary.
Ministry of Pacific Peoples
Ministry of Social Development Strategies that will make a bigger and better difference in people's lives.
New Zealand Disability Strategy. This strategy guides the work of government agencies on disability issues from 2016 to 2026. It includes goals and objectives to help improve health outcomes for Pacific peoples.
Pae Ora Strategies. These set the direction for a health system in Aotearoa New Zealand that is equitable, accessible, cohesive and people-centred. The 6 strategies are:
Pasifika Futures. Strategic Plan and Whānau Ora Outcomes Framework
Three Steps to Meeting Health Literacy Needs-Ngā Toru Hīkoi e Mōhiotia ai te Hauora. A guide from the Health Quality & Safety Commission for health professionals that provides a process to follow with every person in every health care discussion.
WHO Traditional Medicine Strategy: 2014-2023. The strategy aims to support Member States in developing proactive policies and implementing action plans that will strengthen the role traditional medicine plays in keeping populations healthy.
Health and Disability Commissioner (Code of Health and Disability Services Consumers' Rights) Regulations 1996. (NZ Legislation version)
The Code of Health and Disability Services Consumers' Rights (Website version)
Regulations are rules made by a government or a government agency. They deal with the detail and implementation i.e. how something set out in an Act should be done. This could refer to the technical side of things or for things that might change over time and need updating.
New Zealand Nursing Organisation Guideline - Code of Ethics, 2019
The Code of Ethics complements the Code of Conduct for Nurses
Nursing Council of New Zealand
Achieving equity of Pacific mental health and wellbeing outcomes. This report and data infographic bring together insights about Pacific peoples wellbeing using our He Ara Oranga Wellbeing Outcomes Framework along with engagement with Pacific communities (English, Cook Island Māori, Samoan, Tongan versions).
Āhurutia Te Rito: It Takes a Village: How Better Support for Perinatal Mental Health Could Transform the Future for Whānau and Communities in Aotearoa New Zealand. A Report in partnership with Rātā Foundation, Tindall Foundation and Te Whatu Ora - Health New Zealand - National Public Health Service.
Health Status Report. Provides a detailed nationwide picture of the health of the people of Aotearoa New Zealand in 2023.
Hei Whakaarotanga: Engaging with Models of Health and Wellbeing That Draw on Mātauranga Māori. Explores a range of health and wellbeing models that draw on mātauranga Māori that have been used at individual, collective, and population levels in Aotearoa New Zealand.
Knowledge and Attitudes of Health Professionals on Rongoā Māori in Hospitals: Technical Report. A technical report from the New Zealand Health Research Council.
Overweight and Obesity in the Western Pacific Region: An Equity Perspective. This publication suggests some key policy measures as ways forward to reshape the current patterns of overweight and obesity in the Western Pacific Region.
Pacific Population Health Profile (2019). Prepared for Capital and Coast District Health Board
State of the Nation 2025: Kai, Kāinga, Whānau. A report by the Social Policy & Parliamentary Unit of the Salvation Army. It focuses on people in our society and how they are doing. It researches trends across a range of issues that impact on the wellbeing of indiviuals and whānau.
Tofa Saili: A Review of Evidence about Health Equity for Pacific Peoples in New Zealand (2019). Summarises available information on the health of Pacific peoples in New Zealand. It outlines the demographic and socioeconomic factors impacting on Pacific peoples, key health outcomes, and what is currently known about the barriers and facilitators to accessing health care.
Whānau Māori Experiences of Major Trauma Care and Rehabilitation. This report identifies actions that can, if done well, improve the experiences of injured Māori and ultimately improve recovery outcomes.
Faiva Ora 2016–2021 National Pasifika Disability Plan sets out priority outcomes and actions to support and improve the lives of Pacific disabled people of all ages and their families.
Mental Health and Addiction Workforce Plan 2024-2027 Health New Zealand's plan to grow the mental health workforce in New Zealand.
National Pacific Disability Action Plan. Whaikaha – Ministry of Disabled People is developing a National Pacific Disability Plan (2024) which will be co-developed with the community, and will help guide changes to the disability support system and services for Pacific people that Whaikaha manages.
Ola Manuia: Pacific Health and Wellbeing Action Plan 2020–2025. The government’s new national plan and commitment to improving the health and wellbeing of Pacific population living in Aotearoa New Zealand. This plan was informed by the previous Pacific health action plan Ala Mo’ui: Pathways to Pacific Health and Wellbeing 2014–2018.
See the Research guide's Data Sovereignty tab for information on Pacific data sovereignty.
Fonofale Model. A Pacific Island model of health for the use in the New Zealand context. Karl Pulotu-Endemann (2001).
Fonofale Model Pacific Health & Wellbeing Ministry of Pacific Peoples. Karl Pulotu-Endemann (2021).
Seitapu Framework. The Seitapu framework of Pacific cultural and clinical competencies has been designed for use by all mental health workers in New Zealand.
Real Skills Plus Seitapu outlines a foundation cultural competency framework for people in the mental health and addiction workforce who are working with Pacific service users and their families.
Fonua Model on the ActionPoint website.
Yavu Model. Guidelines on how to engage with Pacific communities in a more meaningful and relevant way
Kakala Model. A framework for understanding and connecting with pacific people based on a concept by Konai Helu Thaman.
Tā and Vā. Mahina, H. 'O. (2010). Tā, Vā and Moana: Temporality, spatiality, and indigeneity. Pacific Studies, 33(2/3), 168-202.
Tūranga Māori. A Cook Islands framework to help practitioners working with those affected by family violence.
Te Vaka Atafaga. Kupa, K. (2009). Te Vaka Atafaga: A Tokelau assessment model for supporting holistic mental health practice with Tokelau People in Aotearoa, New Zealand. Pacific Health Dialog, 15(1), 156-163.
Pacific Models for Engagement. From the Te Tāhū Hauora Health Quality & Safety Commission.
Pitama, S., Robertson, P., Cram, F., Gillies, M., Huria, T., & Dallas-Katoa, W. (2007). Meihana Model: A clinical assessment framework. New Zealand Journal of Psychology, 36(3), 118–125.
International
The Ottawa Charter. In 1986 in Ottawa, Canada, the World Health Organization (WHO) developed an approach to improve the health of populations and individuals. This is known as the Ottawa Charter and is used in New Zealand as a framework for planning public health.
Atkins and Murphy Model of Reflection
Atkins, S., & Murphy, K. (1993). Reflection: A review of the literature. Journal of Advanced Nursing, 18, 1188-1192.
(Available in the library. To access, click here)
Gibb's Reflective Cycle
Gibbs, G. (1988). Learning by doing:A guide to teaching and learning methods. Oxford Brookes University. https://thoughtsmostlyaboutlearning.files.wordpress.com/2015/12/learning-by-doing-graham-gibbs.pdf
Johns' Structured Reflection
Becoming a Reflective Practitioner by Rolfe et al. Reflective Model
Rolfe, G., Freshwater, D., & Jasper, M. (2001). Critical reflection for nursing and the helping professions: A user's guide. Palgrave.
Otago Polytechnic has a Reflective writing guide which discusses the reflective model of Rolfe et al. (2001). This is found under the Reflective model tab.
Tanner's Clinical Judgement Model
Tanner, C. A. (2006). Thinking like a nurse: A research-based model of clinical judgment in nursing. Journal of Nursing Education, 45(6), 204-11.
(Go to the library homepage and search for the article title. Select the Search Everything or click here).
Reflective Practice Resources
Check the index at the back of these books for the different models e,g. Gibbs or Johns etc
Beginner′s Guide to Reflective Practice in Nursing by 
The Reflective Practice Guide: An Interdisciplinary Approach to Critical Reflection by 
Reflective Practice in Nursing by Want help with study skills, academic writing and time management? Take a look at the learner resources available or contact a Learning Advisor on LSS@wandw.ac.nz
| 174.2 | Health Ethics | ||
| 362.1089 | Traditional Healing | ||
| 362.12 | Community Health | ||
| 610.73 | Nursing | ||
| 610.73072 | Nursing Research | ||
| 612 | Anatomy & Physiology | ||
| 613.2 | Nutrition | ||
| 615.1 | Pharmacology | ||
| 615.32 | Medicinal plants | ||
| 615.88 | Traditional Medicine | ||
| 616.029 | Palliative Treatment | ||
|
Pathophysiology | ||
|
Mental Health Nursing | ||
| 618.97 | Geriatric Nursing and Gerontology |
Anatomy and Physiology Made Incredibly Easy! by 
Quick & Easy Medical Terminology by 
