Research: Research Skills

Annotated bibliographies give an overview of literature on a certain topic. They can be used to assess the relevance of literature for an assignment, or to help you evaluate the reliability of potential sources, or to simply provide the reader with a summary of sources about a particular topic.

Annotated bibliographies consist of reference list entries followed by short descriptions of the work (i.e., books, articles, or documents) called annotations. 

There are two types of annotated bibliographies: 

• A descriptive annotated bibliography provides a summary of the source as well as a full reference.
• A critical annotated bibliography will also evaluate the source.

More information:

• Annotated Bibliography (Waikato University library)
• Annotated Bibliography (Otago Polytechnic Library)

Literature reviews are an overview and critical evaluation of published information about a topic. Their purpose is to identify:

• what is already known about the subject field
• common themes and methods
• any gaps in the literature
• provides a foundation that the researcher uses to position their own new research

Literature reviews do not present any original research.

More Information:

Systematic reviews are a comprehensive scientific study of ALL evidence about a topic. These reviews:

• use best available evidence in a body of literature to arrive at a conclusion 
• provide a foundation from which the researcher(s) can make recommendations

How do systematic reviews differ from literature reviews?

Systematic reviews do not have a selection process of study material based on a hypothesis like literature reviews. They select ALL material that is relevant to the topic. They are therefore unbiased.

More information: 

• Systematic Reviews (AUT University Library)