Skip to Main Content

APA Referencing: Health Resources

Emergency Ambulance Service Clinicial Practice Guidelines

App version of the Guidelines

Treat the app version like an entry in a mobile app reference work.

In-text citation

National Ambulance Sector Clinical Working Group (2023) states that ...
... most patients (National Ambulance Sector Clinical Working Group, 2023).

Reference list entry

National Ambulance Sector Clinical Working Group. (2023). Myocardial ischaemia CPG EAS 3.2. In Emergency Ambulance Service Clinical Practice Guidelines (Version 3.5.4) [Mobile app]. App Store. https://cpg.stjohn.org.nz/tabs/guidelines/cardiac-eas/page/myocardial-ischaemia-eas
  • This is referenced in a similar way to a chapter in an edited book
  • Author: Group author. The CPGs are developed by a Working Group and are the intellectual property of this Working Group so they are the author
  • Date: This is the year of the version you are using
  • Title: The title of the entry and its CPG EAS number
  • Source: The word In followed by the title of the work, which is in italics as it is the name of the whole work. Treat the title of the work as a proper noun so there are capital letters for the main words. Include the version of the app used. This is in round brackets, followed by a description of the format [Mobile app] and the publisher or app store. Provide a URL.

Online version of the Guidelines

Treat like an entry in a reference work.

In-text citation

National Ambulance Sector Clinical Working Group (2023) states that ...
... most patients (National Ambulance Sector Clinical Working Group, 2023).

Reference list entry

National Ambulance Sector Clinical Working Group. (2023). Myocardial ischaemia CPG EAS 3.2. In Emergency Ambulance Service Clinical Practice Guidelines. Retrieved August 23, 2024, from https://cpg.stjohn.org.nz/tabs/guidelines/cardiac-eas/page/myocardial-ischaemia-eas
  • Author: Group author. The CPGs are developed by a Working Group and are the intellectual property of this Working Group so they are the author
  • Date: This is the year of the version you are using
  • Title: The title of the entry and its CPG EAS number
  • Source: The word In followed by the title of the work, which is in italics as it is the name of the whole work. Treat the title of the work as a proper noun so there are capital letters for the main words. If the publisher and the author are the same, omit from the source element to avoid repetition. As the guidelines are updated regularly and are not archived, include a retrieval statement. This is written as Retrieved month day, year, from. The date is when you accessed the information. Provide a URL.

Clinical overview in the Clinicalkey for Nursing database

The APA Manual does not have information about how to reference a clinical overview, so we have to adapt the information we have to fit APA rules.

In-text citation

Menon (2022) describes ...
... (Menon, 2022).

Reference list entry

 

Menon, U. (2022). Abnormal balance or gait [Clinical overview]. ClinicalKey for Nursing. Retrieved August 30, 2022 from https://www.clinicalkey.com.au/nursing
  • ClinicalKey clinical overviews can only be accessed via the Clinicalkey for Nursing database, so reference them like journal articles and include the database name
  • It has an Author. (Date). Title. You could put a description of what it is in square brackets after the title. This is followed by the source which is the Clinical for Nursing database. This is treated similar to a journal title so is in italics
  • Normally you do not include URLs for academic databases in reference list entries.  The only time you do, is when articles are accessed via that particular database only
  • Normally you do not include a retrieval date unless the information is updated or changes over time.  

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews

The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) is a database for systematic reviews in health care.

In-text citation

Lane and Lip (2013) state that "Peripheral arterial disease (PAD) is a condition that affects the blood vessels (arteries) carrying the blood to the legs, arms, and stomacharea" (p. 3).
"Peripheral arterial disease (PAD) is a condition that affects the blood vessels (arteries) carrying the blood to the legs, arms, and stomacharea" (Lane & Lip, 2013, p. 3).
  • If a direct quote is used (the author's ideas and words), include double quotation marks and a page number
  • If you paraphrase (the author's ideas, your words), do not use quotation marks and a page number is optional

Reference list entry

Lane, D. A., & Lip, G. Y. H. (2013). Treatment of hypertension in peripheral arterial disease. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. https://doi.org/10.1002/14651858.CD003075.pub3

 

  • Articles are available only in this database (It is owned and produced by Cochrane)
  • They are referenced like journal articles where you include the database name
  • The database name is in italics but if found anywhere else in your paper do not use italics

StatPearls

In the About Us of StatPearls, it states they are a leading professional healthcare education and technology company.

Author of chapter or entry. (Date when last updated). Title of chapter or entry. In Title of whole resource. Publisher. Retrieved Month Day, Year, from URL

Griddine, A., & Bush, J. S. (2023). Ondansetron. In StatPearls. StatPearls Publishing. Retrieved March 28, 2023, from https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK499839/?report=classic

  • Reference this like a chapter in an edited book 

  • The date is when it was last updated

  • The title is that of the entry

  • This is followed by the word In and StatPearls which is in italics as it is the name of the whole resource

  • The source is the publisher and the URL

  • The content is updated continually. When an online work is constantly updated and not archived, you include a retrieval date i.e. the day you accessed the information

 

UpToDate database

UpToDate is an evidence-based clinical decision support database.

In-Text citation

Bordeaux and Lieberman (2020) discuss how ...
... caffeine (Bordeaux & Lieberman, 2020). 

Reference list entry

Bordeaux, B., & Lieberman, H. R. (2020). Benefits and risks of caffeine and caffeinated beverages. UpToDate. Retrieved February 26, 2020, from https://www.uptodate.com/contents/benefits-and-risks-of-caffeine-and-caffeinated-beverages
  • Articles are available only in this database
  • They are referenced like journal articles where you include the database name
  • The database name is in italics
  • Use the year of the last update for the date
  • This database has information that changes over time and versions of the pages are not archived, so you include a retrieval date

Useful links

Key Changes between APA 6th and APA 7th edition (University of Auckland)

Paraphrasing Author(s) Multiple Times in a Paragraph 

Whitireia/WelTec Learning Support Guides

Assignment Writing - Covers plagiarism, paraphrasing

Tūāpapa Online Study Hub Modules. To access go to Moodle:

Click here if you are a Whitireia student. 

Click here if you are a Weltec student. 

  • Log in if prompted
  • Click Academic Communication, then Introduction to APA and Plagiarism & Academic Integrity

Referencing Tools 

APA Interactive, Massey University

APA Style Blog

Referencite, University of Auckland

Referencing software

Mendeley 

Zotero

Plagiarism

Avoiding plagiarism guide 

Hill, D. J. (2015). A beginners' guide to plagiarism: What is plagiarism and how can you avoid it? Ako Aotearoa.  https://ako.ac.nz/assets/Knowledge-centre/RHPF-c57-A-beginners-guide-to-plagiarism/PRACTICAL-GUIDE-BOOK-A-Beginners-Guide-to-Plagiarism.pdf