ClinicalKey: Troubleshooting

ClinicalKey for Nursing and ClinicalKey Student are subscription-based databases. Therefore you need to be current ākonga or kaimahi at Whitireia/WelTec.

Make sure you are accessing the database through Moodle or the Library website (check that Whitireia is in the URL). Please do not google Clinicalkey as it will not recognise that you are from our institute i.e.

• Go to the library homepage
• Click on Library Links at the top of the page
• Click either Databases or eBooks
• Scroll down the alphabetical list and click the relevant database

Resetting Your Password

Clinicalkey Nursing

If you have trouble logging in, you can reset your password:

• Click on the login button at the top right corner of the ClinicalKey for Nursing homepage
• Select Forgot username or password

Clinicalkey Student

If you have trouble logging in, you can reset your password:

• Click on the Forgot email and password link on the log in page
• You will be asked to put in an email address (Use your student email address)
• A link to reset your password will be emailed to you

When you use a browser like Google Chrome, Firefox, or MS Edge etc, it saves information from websites in its cache and cookies. The 'cache' is a tool used by your browser to speed up the page loading process. Sometimes this can cause issues with loading and formatting. 

If you have trouble accessing Clinicalkey (usually on a personal device or work laptop or PC) and you know it isn't your password, consider clearing your cache and cookies. 

e.g. Chrome

• On your computer, open Chrome.
• At the top right, click the 3 vertical dots
• Click Delete browsing data
• At the top, choose a time range. To delete everything, select All time.
• Tick the boxes next to Cookies and other site data and Cached images and files
• Click Delete data.

If you have never accessed a Clinicalkey database before and want to access Clinicalkey Student

• You will need to register as a new user
• You will only need to do this once
• Click the Register here link and follow the instructions
• Then go back to the log in page and sign in with your student email address and your ClinicalKey password

• Use your institutional email address so the ClinicalKey databases recognise you come from Whitireia/WelTec 
• Check your email address carefully. Remember the full stop between your first and last name

Whitireia - PreferredName.LastNameXX@whitireianz.ac.nz

WelTec - PreferredName.LastNameXX@student.weltec.ac.nz

• Check the spelling of Whitireia. Many people accidently get the e and i around the wrong way
• Having trouble logging in on a mobile device? Try logging in on a PC. The screen is larger and it is easier to see if you have missed or added a full stop in your email address or made a spelling mistake
• Do not have a full stop at the end of your email address

• The password you create and use on the new user registration form is your ClinicalKey password
• Keep a record of this password as Clinicalkey does not update passwords
• Your ClinicalKey password must be a minimum of 8 characters, including 1 lowercase letter, 1 uppercase letter and 1 special character e.g. ! or @ or #

Have you accessed the Clinicalkey databases before?

• If you have accessed Clinicalkey for Nursing or Clinicalkey Student databases before and they are not allowing you in, it is most likely around your password. See the Login box on this page for information about resetting your password.

Due to a change at the end of 2022, some books are no longer available in the Clinicalkey for Nursing database, but they should be available in the Clinicalkey Student database. Therefore search for the title in ClinicalKey Student.