LibGuides: Counselling and Addictions: Databases

General Databases

EBSCOhost. Includes multiple databases with a wide subject coverage. Search individual databases or select multiple databases and search at one time. Relevant databases are:

Academic Search Complete - A valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text journals
Australia/New Zealand Reference Centre Plus - Accesses leading Australian, New Zealand and international journals, including social work
CINAHL Complete - Covers nursing and allied health topics with full text journals and evidence-based care sheets, covering nursing, and allied health topics, including social work
Psychology & Behavioral Science Collection – Covers psychology, behavioural sciences and related disciplines

Click here for an EBSCOhost guide.

ERIC. The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) is an online library of educational research and information, supported by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education. It includes articles, reports and papers on counselling, therapies, addiction and more.

Gale Database Suite. Contains full text articles and reference sources including interactive databases. Search across a wide range of academic topics or select specialised individual databases such as Psychology.

Index New Zealand (INNZ) Indexes articles published in New Zealand. You can filter to research articles. Mostly abstracts, with some full text available.

ProQuest Academic. Provides access to databases across all major subject areas including social science. The collection includes dissertations, working papers and scholarly journals. It also holds the Whitireia Journal of Nursing, Health and Social Services (2020- present) previously known as Whitireia Nursing & Health Journal (2013 – 2019), Whitireia Nursing Journal (1994 - 2012).

Science Direct. Provides articles on scientific, technical and health research, including councelling and addictions.

Wiley Online Library. Full text access to The Journal of Advanced Nursing. All others have abstracts only. Covers subjects areas such as nursing, health, social, and physical sciences.

Specific Databases

EBSCOhost databases specific to nursing and allied health:

CINAHL Complete covers nursing and allied health topics with full text journals. Includes Counselling Psychology Quarterly

CINAHL Ultimate is the definitive resource for nursing and allied health research, providing full text as well as quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU models and research instruments.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic provides access to scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines

MEDLINE Complete provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection covers information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods

Sociology Source Ultimate covers aspects of human behavior and interaction. Topics range from gender identity, marriage and family, to demographics, political sociology, religion and socio-cultural anthropology

Gale Academic OneFile. Has articles from scholarly journals. Best for academic research. Includes journals on addiction and counselling.

Gale OneFile: Psychology. Covers research in all field of psychology.

Journal Articles

Came, H., McCreanor, T., Manson, L., & Nuku, K. (2019). Upholding Te Tiriti, ending institutional racism and crown inaction on health equity. New Zealand Medical Journal, 132(1492), 61-66.

Came, H., O'Sullivan, D., Kidd, J., & McCreanor, T. (2020). The Waitangi Tribunal’s WAI 2575 report: Implications for decolonizing health systems. Health and Human Rights Journal, 22(1), 209-220.

Campbell, P., & Wilson, J. (2017). Palagi counsellors and effective counselling practice with Pasifika youth. New Zealand Journal of Counselling, 37(2), 90-102. https://doi.org/10.24135/nzjc.v37i2.218

Crozier, S., & Pizzini, N. (2020). Engaging with indigenous knowledge to shape a bicultural counselling programme in Aotearoa New Zealand. Psychotherapy and Politics International, 18(1), Article e1515. https://doi.org/10.1002/ppi.1515

Graham‐DeMello, A., Sloan, O., Frost, K., & Hoek, J. (2024). Young people's experiences of addiction to nicotine vaping products: A qualitative analysis from Aotearoa New Zealand. Drug and Alcohol Review, 43(7), 1710-1717. https://doi.org/10.1111/dar.13902

Kim, D., Nam, J. K., & Keum, C. (2022). Adolescent internet gaming addiction and personality characteristics by game genre. PloS One, 17(2), Article e0263645. https://doi.org/10.1371/journal.pone.0263645

Purcell-Khodr, G. C., Lee, K. S. K., Conigrave, J. H., Webster, E., & Conigrave, K. M. (2020). What can primary care services do to help first nations people with unhealthy alcohol use? A systematic review: Australia, new zealand, USA and canada. Addiction Science & Clinical Practice, 15(1), 1-31. https://doi.org/10.1186/s13722-020-00204-8

Thom, K., & Burnside, D. (2018). Sharing power in criminal justice: The potential of co‐production for offenders experiencing mental health and addictions in New Zealand. International Journal of Mental Health Nursing, 27(4), 1258-1265. https://doi.org/10.1111/inm.12462

Journals

Here is a selection of relevant journals. Some require you to log in with your institutional email address and network password (same password as Moodle), others are open access.

To locate articles on a specific topic, see the Finding information and research tab.

Whitireia Journal of Nursing, Health and Social Services is published annually. It has a website where issues are freely available from 2012-present.

History of name change