LibGuides: EBSCOhost: Accessing

Overview

EBSCOhost provides access to multiple databases with a wide subject coverage. Search for articles from collections on topics such as business research, computer science, art and architecture, education, health, hospitality, tourism, sociology, psychology, and more. Also, there are ebook databases that offer access to thousands of book titles on various topics.

Click on the tabs above for guidance on how to use the databases and how to troubleshoot any issues.

On vs Off Campus Access

When accessing databases on campus, you will be taken directly to the link. When accessing databases off campus, you will be prompted to sign in using your Whitireia/WelTec username and password.

Accessing from the Library Website

Go to the library website
Click Library Links at the top of the page

Select Databases from the drop down menu
Scroll down the alphabetical list and click EBSCOhost

Accessing from Moodle

Go to Moodle (Whitireia or WelTec)
Click Library on the top right of the page

Select Databases and Articles from the drop down menu
Scroll down the alphabetical list and click EBSCOhost

Accessing Using Search Everything

Go to the library website
Type keywords or a known title in the search box
Click the down arrow next to the search box and select Search Everything

Journal articles are found in journals that are held in library databases
Content in some databases in EBSCOhost are picked up when you search using Search Everything
Content in some databases in EBSCOhost are not picked up when you search using Search Everything
If the article or topic you wanted did not appear in your results list, go directly to EBSCOhost via the Databases page

Selecting Databases in EBSCOhost

You can search all EBSCOhost databases at the same time, or you can select one or more specific databases to search within.

Advanced Search

When you select EBSCOhost on the databases page, it defaults to the Advanced search
Under Search articles, books, journals & more, click All databases (36)
This takes you to the Select databases to search page. All databases are showing as selected
Either click on individual databases not relevant to your subject area to deselect them
Or click the Select all box at the top of the page to untick all databases, then click the individual database(s) you want to search
Click Select at the bottom right