EBSCOhost: Troubleshooting

• If you searched for an article or topic by using the search box on the library homepage and the Search Everything filter, and what you needed did not appear, go directly to EBSCOhost via the Databases page, select a relevant database (e.g. Medline Complete) and search there

• If you click Add to folder, the item will be saved temporarily for that session only
• If you want to permanently save items to a folder, sign in with your institutional email and a password by clicking Sign In located on the blue bar in the top right of the screen. First time signing in? You will need to sign up for an account
• The folder is found in the blue bar on the top right of the screen next to Sign In
• You can save specific searches, articles, books, images, videos 
• This permanent folder can be customised

• You can select an individual database to search or you can select multiple databases to search at the same time
• Different databases have the filters positioned in different areas of the Search Options box as well as different wording for the name of filters or different Type categories
•  Therefore, if you want a targeted search on a specific topic, it may be best to search in one database at a time rather than multiple databases at the same time so you can use the specialised types and filters

Each database in EBSCOhost has a Help link found in the top right of the screen.  Check this out for comprehensive guidance on searching, viewing, saving and more.