LibGuides: Mental Health: Databases

General Databases

EBSCOhost. Includes multiple databases with a wide subject coverage. Search individual databases or select multiple databases and search at one time. Relevant databases are:

Academic Search Complete - A valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text journals
Australia/New Zealand Reference Centre Plus - Accesses leading Australian, New Zealand and international journals, including those covering nursing and allied health
CINAHL Complete - Covers nursing and allied health topics with full text journals and evidence-based care sheets
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition - Provides scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines
Psychology & Behavioral Science Collection – Covers psychology, behavioural sciences and related disciplines
Sociology Source Ultimate - Covers aspects of human behavior and interaction such as gender identity, marriage and family, to demographics, political sociology and socio-cultural anthropology

Click here for an EBSCOhost guide.

Gale Database Suite. Contains full text articles and reference sources including interactive databases. Search across a wide range of academic topics or select specialised individual databases such as Psychology.

Index New Zealand (INNZ) Indexes articles published in New Zealand. You can filter to research articles. Mostly abstracts, with some full text available.

ProQuest Academic. Provides access to databases across all major subject areas including nursing and health. The collection includes dissertations, working papers and scholarly journals. Holds the Whitireia Journal of Nursing, Health and Social Services (2020- present) previously known as Whitireia Nursing & Health Journal (2013 – 2019), Whitireia Nursing Journal (1994 - 2012).

Science Direct. Provides articles on scientific, technical and health research including mental health.

Wiley Online Library. Full text access to The Journal of Advanced Nursing. All others have abstracts only. Covers subjects areas such as nursing, health, social, and physical sciences.

Nursing Databases

EBSCOhost databases specific to nursing and allied health:

CINAHL Complete covers nursing and allied health topics with full text journals. Includes Counselling Psychology Quarterly

CINAHL Ultimate is the definitive resource for nursing and allied health research, providing full text as well as quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU models and research instruments.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic provides access to scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines

MEDLINE Complete provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection covers information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods

Sociology Source Ultimate covers aspects of human behavior and interaction. Topics range from gender identity, marriage and family, to demographics, political sociology, religion and socio-cultural anthropology

Clinicalkey for Nursing. Supports nurses and health professionals by providing up to date evidence-based and point of care clinical information. Includes ebooks, journals, drug information, clinical overviews and more.

Click here for a guide on how to access, use and troubleshoot the Clinicalkey databases.

Cochrane Library*. Consists of a collection of evidence-based medicine databases including systematic reviews in health care. It provides up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care and evidence to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care

DynaMed Plus. Provides evidence-based content to help clinicians in their daily practice.

Ovid

Joanna Briggs’ Evidence Based Practice Database*. (JBI EBP). Provides best practice resources to inform nursing practice. Click here for guide.

Lippincott Journal Collection. Holds over 25 premium journals, one of the leading sources of scholarly medical, nursing, and health science information. Guides available

Lippincott Procedures*. Gives access to evidence-based nursing procedure guidance tailored to New Zealand DHBs and retirement hospitals.

Medline on PubMed*. Indexes medical, nursing and health care articles. Contains citations and author abstracts with links to some free full text articles.

Nursing Reference Center Plus. Provides evidence-based information for point of care, continuing education, nursing skills, drug information and nursing practice.

* not searchable via the Search Everything filter

Journal Articles

A selection of articles on mental health. Copy and paste the article title into the search box on the library homepage. Click the down arrow next to the search box to select the Search Everything filter.

Came, H., McCreanor, T., Manson, L., & Nuku, K. (2019). Upholding Te Tiriti, ending institutional racism and crown inaction on health equity. New Zealand Medical Journal, 132(1492), 61-66.

Came, H., O'Sullivan, D., Kidd, J., & McCreanor, T. (2020). The Waitangi Tribunal’s WAI 2575 report: Implications for decolonizing health systems. Health and Human Rights Journal, 22(1), 209-220.

Haggerty, C., Chamberlain, A., Hall, J., Jennings, V., & Hann, D. (2024). How are registered nurses supporting the physical health of service users with serious mental illness? Whitireia Journal of Nursing, Health and Social Services, 31, 35–41. https://doi.org/10.34074/ whit.3104

Kapeli, S. A., Manuela, S., & Sibley, C. G. (2020). Understanding Pasifika mental health in New Zealand. MAI Journal, 9(3), 249-271. https://doi.org/10.20507/MAIJournal.2020.9.3.7

Komene, E., Sami, L., Wiapo, C., Davis, J., & Adams, S. (2023). Whakarōpū: An exemplar fostering professional development and cultural growth with a collective grouping of Māori and Pacific nurses. Nursing Praxis in New Zealand, 39(2), 1-9. https://doi.org/10.36951/001c.90845

McKellar, D., & Rodrigues, A. (2017). Access to healthcare for people living in Aotearoa with a serious mental illness: A social justice issue. Whitireia Nursing and Health Journal, 24, 53-58. https://doi.org/10.34074/whit.24

Mulder, R. T., Bastiampillai, T., Jorm, A., & Allison, S. (2022). New Zealand’s mental health crisis, He Ara Oranga and the future. New Zealand Medical Journal, 135(1548), 89-95.

Mulipola, T. I., Holroyd, E., & Vaka, S. (2023). Using Fa’afaletui to explore Samoan consumers’experience and interpretation of mental health person-centred care in Aotearoa, New Zealand. International Journal of Mental Health Nursing, 32, 513–523. https://doi.org/10.1111/inm.13090

Sculley, D., & Smith, L. (2023). A living curriculum: Interweaving Te Whare Tapa Whā, model of Māori holistic health and wairua, into postgraduate mental health and addictions nursing. Whitireia Journal of Nursing, Health & Social Services, 30, 29–35. https://doi. org/10.34074/whit.2901

Theodore, R., Bowden, N., Kokaua, J., Ruhe, T., Hobbs, M., Hetrick, S., Marek, L., Wiki, J., Milne, B., Thabrew, H., & Boden, J. (2022). Mental health inequities for Māori youth: A population-level study of mental health service data. New Zealand Medical Journal, 135(1567), 79-90.

Thom, K., & Burnside, D. (2018). Sharing power in criminal justice: The potential of co‐production for offenders experiencing mental health and addictions in New Zealand. International Journal of Mental Health Nursing, 27(4), 1258-1265. https://doi.org/10.1111/inm.12462

Tissera, N., & Tairi, T. (2020). Mental health literacy: New Zealand adolescents’ knowledge of depression, schizophrenia and help-seeking. New Zealand Journal of Psychology, 49(1), 14-21.

Journals

Here is a selection of nursing journals. Some require you to log in with your institutional email address and network password (same password as Moodle), others are open access.

To locate articles on a specific topic, see the Finding information and research tab.

Whitireia Journal of Nursing, Health and Social Services is published annually. It has a website where issues are freely available from 2012-present.

History of name change