Kia ora, nau mai haere mai, welcome to the subject guide for Nursing Māori.
It provides books, journal articles, databases, websites and multimedia resources relevant to your study and research.
Health and Disability Commissioner (Code of Health and Disability Services Consumers' Rights) Regulations 1996. (Legislation version)
Health and Disability Commissioner (Code of Health and Disability Services Consumers' Rights) Regulations 1996 (Website version)
Regulations are rules made by a government or a government agency. They deal with the detail and implementation i.e. how something set out in an Act should be done. This could refer to the technical side of things or for things that might change over time and need updating.
New Zealand Nursing Organisation Guideline - Code of Ethics, 2019
The Code of Ethics complements the Code of Conduct for Nurses
Nursing Council of New Zealand
Child and Youth Wellbeing Strategy sets out a shared understanding of what children and young people need and want in order to be well, what government is and should be doing to support them, and how we must work together.
Ngā Whānau Māori Wheako ki te Tauwhiro Pāmamae me te Whakaoranga | Whānau Māori Experiences of Major Trauma Care and Rehabilitation. A report prepared by Sharon Pīhima for the Health Quality & Safety Commission and the National Trauma Network. It provides direction for making the changes and improvements needed to achieve better health outcomes and experiences for whānau Māori. This has an accompanying resource
Whakawhanaungatanga with whānau Māori who experience trauma events which gives tips for whakawhanaungatanga in a clinical setting.
Health literacy process: Three steps to meeting health literacy needs-Ngā toru hīkoi e mōhiotia ai te hauora.
Strategies and Action Plans
Strategies
New Zealand Health Strategy sets out how New Zealand's health system can improve people’s access to and experiences of health services so that everyone benefits. It takes a whole population focus and addresses broad systemic issues
Pae Tū: Hauora Māori Strategy 2023 guides health entities to uphold Te Tiriti and achieve Māori health equity.
Pae Tū: Te Rautaki Hauora Māori 2023 Te reo version.
Action Plans
Mental Health and Addiction Workforce Plan 2024-2027 Health New Zealand's plan to grow the mental health workforce in New Zealand.
Whakamaua: Māori Health Action Plan 2020-2025 is the implementation plan for He Korowai Oranga, New Zealand’s Māori Health Strategy – it will help achieve better health outcomes for Māori by setting the government’s direction for Māori health advancement over the next five years.
Whatua: Engagement for the development of Whakamaua: Māori Health Action Plan 2020-2025. A companion resource. It provides a summary of the insights gathered during the engagement process to develop Whakamaua.
Ministry of Social Development Strategies that will make a bigger and better difference in people's lives.
Families and Whānau Status Report 2018
Cultural Revitalisation and the making of identity with Aotearoa New Zealand looks at culture, Māori identity and its normalisation as a distinguishing feature of an inclusive New Zealand identity (PDF download)
Hauora: Report on stage one of the Health Services and Outcomes Kaupapa Inquiry (WAI 2575). Also a physical copy is available in the library at 362.1 WAI
Article
The Waitangi Tribunal’s WAI 2575 report: Implications for decolonizing health systems
Reports
Āhurutia Te Rito: It takes a village: How better support for perinatal mental health could transform the future for whānau and communities in Aotearoa New Zealand. A Report in partnership with Rātā Foundation, Tindall Foundation and Te Whatu Ora - Health New Zealand - National Public Health Service.
Knowledge and attitudes of health professionals on Rongoā Māori in hospitals: Technical report. A technical report from the New Zealand Health Research Council.
The Manaakitanga Report for Tāmaki Makaurau 2019. This plan places Manaakitanga as one of five central values for Māori wellbeing.
Developing the National Breastfeeding Strategy for New Zealand Aotearoa
Living Well, Dying Well: A strategy for a palliative care approach - A summary.
Pitama, S., Robertson, P., Cram, F., Gillies, M., Huria, T., & Dallas-Katoa, W. (2007). Meihana Model: A clinical assessment framework. New Zealand Journal of Psychology, 36(3), 118–125.
Research report
Bright, N., & Boyd, S. (2024). Hei whakaarotanga: Engaging with models of health and wellbeing that draw on mātauranga Māori. New Zealand Council for Educational Research. https://doi.org/10.18296/rep.0039
(Pulotu-Endeman, 2001)
Pacific Health Models
See the Nursing Pacific subject guide for models such as Fonofale, Fonua, Seitapu.
Books
Te Hiringa Hauora research framework: Health promotion research at the interface of mātauranga Māori and Western science - physical copies.
Te Hiringa Hauora research framework: Health promotion research at the interface of mātauranga Māori and Western science - online version.
Rauru Whakarare evaluation framework provides a Kaupapa Māori-informed approach to evaluation.
Mauri Mate: A Māori Palliative Care Framework for Hospices
Equity of Health Care for Māori: A Framework. The framework guides health practitioners, health organisations and the health system to achieve equitable health care for Māori through leadership, knowledge and commitment.
A Framework for Health Literacy. The Ministry of Health developed this framework because it is committed to a health system that enables everyone living in New Zealand to live well and keep well. Building health literacy is an important part of this.
The New Zealand Health Research Prioritisation Framework (English) - Te Mahere Whakamātāmuatanga a Rangahau Hauora Aotearoa (Te Reo Māori) This framework was developed as part of the implementation of the New Zealand Health Research Strategy 2017–2027. It prioritises how and why health research needs to be done in New Zealand in order to drive high-level health and social outcomes and ensure maximum impact from the government’s investment in health.
Oranga Hinengaro System and Service Framework identifies the core components of a contemporary mental health and addiction system with a 10-year view. It provides guidance for those responsible for publicly funded health system policy, design, service commissioning, and delivery.
Te Tiriti o Waitangi Framework. The Ministry of Health’s Te Tiriti o Waitangi (Te Tiriti) Framework provides an updated expression of the Crown’s Te Tiriti obligations in the context of the health and disability system.
Atkins and Murphy Model of Reflection
Atkins, S., & Murphy, K. (1993). Reflection: A review of the literature. Journal of Advanced Nursing, 18, 1188-1192.
(Available in the library. To access, click here and select the article by Atkins)
Gibb's Reflective Cycle
Gibbs, G. (1988). Learning by doing:A guide to teaching and learning methods. Oxford Brookes University. https://thoughtsmostlyaboutlearning.files.wordpress.com/2015/12/learning-by-doing-graham-gibbs.pdf
Johns' Structured Reflection
Becoming a Reflective Practitioner by Rolfe et al. Reflective Model
Rolfe, G., Freshwater, D., & Jasper, M. (2001). Critical reflection for nursing and the helping professions: A user's guide. Palgrave.
Otago Polytechnic has a Reflective writing guide which discusses the reflective model of Rolfe et al. (2001). This is found under the Reflective model tab.
Tanner's Clinical Judgement Model
Tanner, C. A. (2006). Thinking like a nurse: A research-based model of clinical judgment in nursing. Journal of Nursing Education, 45(6), 204-11.
(Go to the library homepage and search for the article title. Select the Search Everything or Journal Article filter).
Reflective Practice Resources
Check the index at the back of these books for the different models e,g. Gibbs or Johns etc
Beginner′s Guide to Reflective Practice in Nursing by 
The Reflective Practice Guide: An Interdisciplinary Approach to Critical Reflection by 
Reflective Practice in Nursing by See the Research guide's Data Sovereignty tab for information on Māori data sovereignty.
There is a Māori Collection in Te Kete Wānanga, Porirua campus. The books are shelved using the Dewey Classification System.
Te Awarua support all Whitireia enrolled Māori ākonga. They help with academic learning and provide engagement and well-being support. They are on Level 2 of Te Kete Wānanga (library), 9am-4:30pm daily. Email: maoristudentsupport@whitireia.ac.nz
Want help with study skills, academic writing and time management? Take a look at the learner resources available or contact a Learning Advisor on LSS@wandw.ac.nz
| 174.2 | Health Ethics |
| 362.12 | Community Health |
| 610.73 | Nursing |
| 610.73072 | Nursing Research |
| 612 | Anatomy & Physiology |
| 613.2 | Nutrition |
| 615.1 | Pharmacology |
| 615.32 | Medicinal Plants |
| 616.029 | Palliative Treatment |
| 616.07 | Pathophysiology |
| 616.89 | Mental Health Nursing |
| 618.97 | Geriatric Nursing and Gerontology |
Nga Kuaha: Voices and Visions in Maori Healing and Psychiatry by 
Te Reo Hauora : A Maori Language Dictionary of Health and Physical Education by 