Skip to Main Content

Social Work: Databases

Journal Articles

Journal articles are excellent sources for current and scholarly information.  They are found in journals. Journals are mostly accessed via library databases.

Find articles on your topic by typing keywords:

  • In the search field on the Library homepage and selecting the filter Search Everything
  • In Library databases (see below)

For searching tips and strategies see the Finding Information and Research tab.

General Databases

EBSCOhost. Includes multiple databases with a wide subject coverage. Search individual databases or select multiple databases and search at one time. Relevant databases are:

  • Australia/New Zealand Reference Centre Plus - Accesses leading Australian, New Zealand and international journals, including social work
  • CINAHL Complete - Covers nursing and allied health topics with full text journals and evidence-based care sheets, covering nursing, and allied health topics, including social work
  • Psychology & Behavioral Science Collection – Covers psychology, behavioural sciences and related disciplines

  • Sociology Source Ultimate covers aspects of human behavior and interaction. Topics range from gender identity, marriage and family, to demographics, political sociology, religion and socio-cultural anthropology

Click here for an EBSCOhost guide.

 

ERIC. The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) is an online library of educational research and information, supported by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education.  It includes resources on social work.

 

Gale Database Suite. Contains full text articles and reference sources including interactive databases. Search across a wide range of academic topics or select specialised individual databases such as Psychology.

 

Index New Zealand (INNZ) Indexes articles published in New Zealand. You can filter to research articles. Mostly abstracts, with some full text available.

 

ProQuest Academic. Provides access to databases across all major subject areas including social science. The collection includes dissertations, working papers and scholarly journals. It also holds the Whitireia Journal of Nursing, Health and Social Services (2020- present) previously known as Whitireia Nursing & Health Journal (2013 – 2019), Whitireia Nursing Journal (1994 - 2012).

Science Direct. Provides articles on scientific, technical and health research, including social work. 

Wiley Online Library. Full text access to The Journal of Advanced Nursing. All others have abstracts only. Covers subjects areas such as nursing, health, social, and physical sciences.

Specific Databases

EBSCOhost databases specific to nursing and allied health:

CINAHL Complete covers nursing and allied health topics with full text journals. Includes Counselling Psychology Quarterly

CINAHL Ultimate is the definitive resource for nursing and allied health research, providing full text as well as quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU models and research instruments.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic provides access to scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines

MEDLINE Complete provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection covers information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods

Sociology Source Ultimate covers aspects of human behavior and interaction. Topics range from gender identity, marriage and family, to demographics, political sociology, religion and socio-cultural anthropology

Clinicalkey for Nursing. Supports nurses and health professionals by providing up to date evidence-based and point of care clinical information. Includes ebooks, journals, drug information, clinical overviews and more. 

Click here for a guide on how to access, use and troubleshoot the Clinicalkey databases.

Gale OneFile: Contemporary Women's Issues has current and historical content on issues that influence women's lives 

Gale OneFile Psychology has authoritative journal articles supporting research in all fields of psychology.

New Zealand Council for Educational Research (NZCER) is an independent educational research organisation with a bicultural focus and an international reputation for producing quality educational research and research-based resources, such as children's wellbeing, learning during lockdown.

 

* not searchable via the Search Everything filter.