Kia ora and welcome to the subject guide for Palliative Care.
It provides books, journal articles, databases, websites and multimedia resources relevant to your study and research.
Palliative Care - Information on Te Whatu Ora's national palliative care work
DeathsUpdate2022 and Projections of Deaths by District and Region for Financial Years ending 30 June 2023 to 2043. This is a downloadable Excel spreadsheet.
Living Well, Dying Well: A strategy for a palliative care approach - A summary.
Planning for Palliative Care Services in Aotearoa: What Our Population Data Tells Us. A PowerPoint presentation with supporting resources
Hauora: Report on Stage One of the Health Services and Outcomes Kaupapa Inquiry (WAI 2575). Also a physical copy is available in the library at 362.1 WAI
Kāinga Kore: The Stage One Report of the Housing Policy and Services: Kaupapa Inquiry on Māori Homelessness (WAI 2750) available in the library at 362.5 NEW
Article
The Waitangi Tribunal’s WAI 2575 report: Implications for decolonizing health systems
Action Plans
Mahi Aroha - Carers' Strategy Action Plan 2019-2023. From the Ministry of Social Development. An action plan that recognises, values, and supports carers.
Mental Health and Addiction Workforce Plan 2024-2027 Health New Zealand's plan to grow the mental health workforce in New Zealand.
National Pacific Disability Action Plan. Whaikaha – Ministry of Disabled People is developing a National Pacific Disability Plan.
Palliative Care Action Plan details each of the priority areas recommended in the Review of Adult Palliative Care Services in New Zealand
Whakamaua: Māori Health Action Plan 2020-2025 is the implementation plan for He Korowai Oranga, New Zealand’s Māori Health Strategy – it will help us achieve better health outcomes for Māori by setting the government’s direction for Māori health advancement over the next five years
Frameworks
Equity of Health Care for Māori: A Framework. The framework guides health practitioners, health organisations and the health system to achieve equitable health care for Māori through leadership, knowledge and commitment.
A Framework for Health Literacy. The Ministry of Health developed this framework because it is committed to a health system that enables everyone living in New Zealand to live well and keep well. Building health literacy is an important part of this.
Mauri Mate: A Māori Palliative Care Framework for Hospices. This Framework responds to issues that Māori have raised with service providers and researchers. The aim is to develop guidelines for hospices, so adult Māori receive access to good palliative care.
New Zealand Framework for Dementia Care provides DHBs and the health and social support sectors with a guide for developing their dementia care pathways
The New Zealand Health Research Prioritisation Framework (English) - Te Mahere Whakamātāmuatanga a Rangahau Hauora Aotearoa (Te Reo Māori) This framework was developed as part of the implementation of the New Zealand Health Research Strategy 2017–2027. It prioritises how and why health research needs to be done in New Zealand in order to drive high-level health and social outcomes and ensure maximum impact from the government’s investment in health.
Resource and Capability Framework for Integrated Adult Palliative Care Services in New Zealand. Describes the level of palliative care required including the resources and capabilities needed to support service delivery
Te Tiriti o Waitangi Framework. The Ministry of Health’s Te Tiriti o Waitangi (Te Tiriti) Framework provides an updated expression of the Crown’s Te Tiriti obligations in the context of the health and disability system
Book
Pitama, S., Robertson, P., Cram, F., Gillies, M., Huria, T., & Dallas-Katoa, W. (2007). Meihana Model: A clinical assessment framework. New Zealand Journal of Psychology, 36(3), 118–125.
Pacific Health Models
See the Nursing Pacific subject guide for models such as Fonofale, Fonua, Seitapu.
International
The Ottawa Charter. In 1986 in Ottawa, Canada, the World Health Organization (WHO) developed an approach to improve the health of populations and individuals. This is known as the Ottawa Charter and is used in New Zealand as a framework for planning public health.
Palliative Care
New Zealand Palliative Care Strategy sets in place a systematic and informed approach to the future provision and funding of palliative care services.
Review of Adult Palliative Care Services in New Zealand presents a refreshed strategic direction for adult palliative care and proposes a suite of initiatives to help manage future increases in demand for palliative care
Health
Better Later Life – He Oranga Kaumātua 2019 to 2034 documents how to make the future better for New Zealanders as we age
Healthy Ageing Strategy 2016 presents the overarching direction and action plan in regards to the health and wellbeing of older people
New Zealand Health Strategy sets out how New Zealand's health system can improve people’s access to and experiences of health services so that everyone benefits
New Zealand Disability Strategy. From the Office for Disability Issues, this strategy guides the work of government agencies on disability issues from 2016 to 2026. It includes goals and objectives to help improve health outcomes for Pacific peoples.
Three steps to meeting health literacy needs-Ngā toru hīkoi e mōhiotia ai te hauora. A guide from the Health Quality & Safety Commission for health professionals that provides a process to follow eith every person in every health care discussion.
Death & Dying: Information from different Asian cultures & religions. This is a report compiled by eCALD® Services who are part of the Institute for Innovation and Improvement (i3), Te Whatu Ora - Health New Zealand - Waitematā. There is an accompanying PDF version available.
Ending Well: The Urgent Case for Accessible Palliative Care. A discussion paper/report that identifies five key areas where policy changes could improve access to palliative care services for New Zealanders.
National Health Needs Assessment for Palliative Care: Summary Phase 2 Report: Palliative Care Capacity and Capability in New Zealand (2013) This report deals with palliative care capacity and capability in New Zealand
This Is Not My Home: A Collection of Perspectives on the Provision of Aged Care Residential Care Without Consent. This is by the New Zealand Human Right Commission and outlines a perspective or concern relevant to the legal and ethical issues where the resident has not given consent.
Atkins and Murphy Model of Reflection
Atkins, S., & Murphy, K. (1993). Reflection: A review of the literature. Journal of Advanced Nursing, 18, 1188-1192.
(Available in the library. To access, click here)
Gibb's Reflective Cycle
Gibbs, G. (1988). Learning by doing:A guide to teaching and learning methods. Oxford Brookes University.
https://thoughtsmostlyaboutlearning.files.wordpress.com/2015/12/learning-by-doing-graham-gibbs.pdf
Johns' Structured Reflection
Call Number: 610.73 JOH
ISBN: 9781119764748
Publication Date: 2022-02-14
Rolfe et al. Reflective Model
Rolfe, G., Freshwater, D., & Jasper, M. (2001). Critical reflection for nursing and the helping professions: A user's guide. Palgrave.
Otago Polytechnic - Te Pūkenga has a Reflective writing guide which discusses the reflective model of Rolfe et al. (2001). This is found under the Reflective model tab.
Tanner's Clinical Judgement Model
Tanner, C. A. (2006). Thinking like a nurse: A research-based model of clinical judgment in nursing. Journal of Nursing Education, 45(6), 204-11.
(Go to the library homepage and search for the article title. Select the Search Everything or click here).
Reflective Practice Resources
Check the index at the back of these books for the different models e,g. Gibbs or Johns etc
Beginner′s Guide to Reflective Practice in Nursing by 
The Reflective Practice Guide: An Interdisciplinary Approach to Critical Reflection by 
Reflective Practice in Nursing by 
Communication in Palliative Care by 
Understanding Te Tiriti: A Handbook of Basic Facts about Te Tiriti o Waitangi by National
Te Puka Manaaki Pairuri o Aotearoa – Putanga Tuatahi: The Palliative Care Handbook New Zealand. These new guidelines will be available in early 2025.
Frailty: Te Wairuhi (Frailty care guides 2023)
Te Ara Whakapiri: Principles and guidance for the last days of life. This guide outlines the requirements to ensure consistent and quality care for all New Zealand adults at the end of life
International
End of Life Guidance for Diabetes Care
Top Tips: End of Life and Palliative Care in Frailty
National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (UK) palliative care guidelines
Palliative Care. The World Health Oganization's definition of palliative care plus other resources
Hospice New Zealand Standards for Palliative Care 2019. The Standards have been developed to support all hospice services to deliver consistent and best quality palliative and end of life care for people regardless of locality and diagnosis.
New Zealand Nursing Organisation Guideline - Code of Ethics, 2019
The Code of Ethics complements the Code of Conduct for Nurses
Nursing Council of New Zealand
Advanced Care Planning. A Health New Zealand site that helps you to understand what the future might hold, and say what health care you would or would not want, including end-of-life care
Tōfā Fetāla’i. A new Samoan language advance care planning resource
He Waka Kakarauri. Guidelines for engaing Māori in advanced care planning conversations
Korean advance care planning documents:
