Journal articles are excellent sources for current and scholarly information. They are found in journals. Journals are mostly accessed via library databases.
Find articles on your topic by typing keywords:
For searching tips and strategies see the Finding Information and Research tab.
EBSCOhost. Includes multiple databases with a wide subject coverage. Search individual databases or select multiple databases and search at one time. Relevant databases are:
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection - Covers information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes etc
Sociology Source Ultimate - Covers aspects of human behavior and interaction. Topics range from gender identity, marriage and family, to demographics, political sociology, religion and socio-cultural anthropology
Click here for an EBSCOhost guide.
ERIC. The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) is an online library of educational research and information, supported by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education.
Gale Database Suite. Contains full text articles and reference sources including interactive databases. Search across a wide range of academic topics or select specialised individual databases such as Gale Interactive Human Anatomy.
ProQuest Academic. Provides access to databases across all major subject areas including nursing and health. The collection includes dissertations, working papers and scholarly journals. Holds the Whitireia Journal of Nursing, Health and Social Services (2020- present) previously known as Whitireia Nursing & Health Journal (2013 – 2019), Whitireia Nursing Journal (1994 - 2012).
Science Direct. Provides articles on scientific, technical and health research.
Wiley Online Library. Full text access to The Journal of Advanced Nursing. All others have abstracts only. Covers subjects areas such as nursing, health, social, and physical sciences.
A selection of articles on a variety of topics. Copy and paste the article title into the search box on the library homepage (Search Everything filter).
Ahmadi, Z., Bernelid, E., Currow, D., & Ekström, M. (2016). Prescription of opioids for breathlessness in end-stage COPD: A national population-based study. International Journal of Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease, 11, 2651-2657. https://doi.org/10.2147/COPD.S112484
Allen, D. H., Myers, J. S., Jansen, C. E., Merriman, J. D., & Von Ah, D. (2018). Assessment and management of cancer and cancer treatment-related cognitive impairment. The Journal for Nurse Practitioners, 14(4), 217-224.e5. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.nurpra.2017.11.026
Angus, E., Reid, K., Yamit, S., Coe, G., Ryan, B., & Crichton, S. (2021). Experience of internationally qualified nurses providing palliative care in a New Zealand aged residential care facility. International Journal of Palliative Nursing, 27(10), 515-523. https://doi.org/10.12968/ijpn.2021.27.10.515
Ayello, E. A., Levine, J. M., Langemo, D., Kennedy-Evans, K. L., Brennan, M. R., & Gary Sibbald, R. (2019). Re-examining the literature on terminal ulcers, SCALE, skin failure, and unavoidable pressure injuries. Advances in Skin & Wound Care, 32(3), 109-121. https://doi.org/10.1097/01.ASW.0000553112.55505.5f
Donnelly, M., & Martin, D. (2016). History taking and physical assessment in holistic palliative care. British Journal of Nursing, 25(22), 1250-1255. https://doi.org/10.12968/bjon.2016.25.22.1250
Fook, J., & Kellehear, A. (2010). Using critical reflection to support health promotion goals in palliative care. Journal of Palliative Care, 26(4), 295-302. https://doi.org/10.1177/082585971002600406
Ford, C. (2019). Adult pain assessment and management. British Journal of Nursing, 28(7), 421-423. https://doi.org/10.12968/bjon.2019.28.7.421
Gagliese, L., Rodin, R., Chan, V., Stevens, B., & Zimmermann, C. (2016). How do healthcare workers judge pain in older palliative care patients with delirium near the end of life? Palliative & Supportive Care, 14(2), 151-158. https://doi.org/10.1017/S1478951515000929
Hey, J., Hosker, C., Ward, J., Kite, S., & Speechley, H. (2015). Delirium in palliative care: Detection, documentation and management in three settings. Palliative & Supportive Care, 13(6), 1541-1545. https://doi.org/10.1017/S1478951513000813
Hilfiker, R., Meichtry, A., Eicher, M., Nilsson Balfe, L., Knols, R. H., Verra, M. L., & Taeymans, J. (2018). Exercise and other non-pharmaceutical interventions for cancer-related fatigue in patients during or after cancer treatment: A systematic review incorporating an indirect-comparisons meta-analysis. British Journal of Sports Medicine, 52(10), 651-658. https://doi.org/10.1136/bjsports-2016-096422
Hosie, A., Agar, M., Lobb, E., Davidson, P. M., & Phillips, J. (2017). Improving delirium recognition and assessment for people receiving inpatient palliative care: A mixed methods meta-synthesis. International Journal of Nursing Studies, 75, 123-129. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.ijnurstu.2017.07.007
Holmes, S. (2010). Withholding or withdrawing nutrition at the end of life. Nursing Standard, 25(14), 43-46. https://doi.org/10.7748/ns.25.14.43.s51
Latimer, S., Shaw, J., Hunt, T., Mackrell, K., & Gillespie, B. M. (2019). Kennedy terminal ulcers: A scoping review. Journal of Hospice and Palliative Nursing, 21(4), 257-263. https://doi.org/10.1097/NJH.0000000000000563
Malara, A., de Biase, G. A., Bettarini, F., Ceravolo, F., Di Cello, S. D., Garo, M., Praino, F., Settembrini, V., Sgrò, G., Spadea, F., & Rispoli, V. (2016). Pain assessment in elderly with behavioural and psychological symptoms of dementia. Journal of Alzheimers Disease,50(4), 1217-1225. https://doi.org/10.3233/jad-150808
McConigley, R., Aoun, S., Kristjanson, L., Colyer, S., Dears, K., O'Connor, M., & Yates, P. (2012). Implementing and evaluation of an education program to care for people with motor neurone disease. Palliative Medicine, 26(8), 994-1000. https://doi.org/10.1177/0269216311426918
Nielson, A., Stragnell, P. J., & Jester, P. (2007). Guide for reflection using the clinical judgment model. The Journal of Nursing Education, 45(11), 513-516. https://doi.org/10.3928/01484834-20071101-06
Oelofsen, N. (2012). Using reflective practice in frontline nursing. Nursing Times, 108(24), 22-24.
Pesut, B., Robinson, C. A., & Bottorff, J. L. (2014). Among neighbors: An ethnographic account of responsibilities in rural palliative care. Palliative & Supportive Care, 12(2), 127-38. https://doi.org/10.1017/S1478951512001046
Pettifer, A. (2007). Teaching interprofessional teamwork in palliative care: A values-based approach. Journal of Palliative Care, 23(4), 280-285. https://doi.org/10.1177/082585970702300406
Rice, E., & Betcher, D. (2010). Palliative care in an acute care hospital: From pilot to consultation service. Medsurg Nursing, 19(2), 107-112.
Rodgers, V., Marshall B., Hey, F., Blackwell A., & Lewer P. (2017). Readiness for providing primary palliative care in regional aged residential care: Partnering with SEQUAL specialist palliative care nurses. Nursing Praxis in New Zealand, 33(3), 31-40.
Ryan, T., Gardiner, C., Bellany, G., Gott, M., & Ingleton, C. (2012). Barriers and facilitators to the receipt of palliative care for people with dementia: The views of medical and nursing staff. Palliative Medicine, 26(7), 879-886. https://doi.org/10.1177/0269216311423443
Saca, M. L., & Centeno, C. (2015). Reaffirming the benefits of morphine to beat opiophobia. European Journal of Palliative Care, 22(6), 288-291.
Stienstra, D., & Chochinov, H. M. (2012). Palliative care for vulnerable populations. Palliative and Supportive Care, 10(1), 37-42. https://doi.org/10.1017/S1478951511000563
Thomas J., Sanchez‐Reilly S., Bernacki R., O'Neill L., Morrison L., Kapo J., & Carey E. (2018). Advance care planning in cognitively impaired older adults. Journal of the American Geriatric Society, 66(8), 1469-1474. https://doi.org/10.1111/jgs.15471
Clinicalkey for Nursing. Supports nurses and health professionals by providing up to date evidence-based and point of care clinical information. Includes ebooks, journals, drug information, clinical overviews and more.
Click here for a guide on how to access, use and troubleshoot the Clinicalkey databases.
Cochrane Library*. Consists of a collection of evidence-based medicine databases including systematic reviews in health care. It provides up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care and evidence to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care
DynaMed Plus. Provides evidence-based content to help clinicians in their daily practice.
EBSCOhost databases specific to nursing and allied health:
CINAHL Complete covers nursing and allied health topics with full text journals. Includes Counselling Psychology Quarterly
CINAHL Ultimate is the definitive resource for nursing and allied health research, providing full text as well as quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU models and research instruments.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic provides access to scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines
MEDLINE Complete provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection covers information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods
Sociology Source Ultimate covers aspects of human behavior and interaction. Topics range from gender identity, marriage and family, to demographics, political sociology, religion and socio-cultural anthropology
Ovid
Joanna Briggs’ Evidence Based Practice Database*. (JBI EBP). Provides best practice resources to inform nursing practice.
Lippincott Advisor is the "Why" to the Lippincott Procedures "How". It is written by nurses and gives instant access to evidence-based clinical information at the point of care. It answers questions about diseases, diagnostic tests, treatments, signs and symptoms. It has localised content for Australia and New Zealand which is being updated and added to regularly.
Lippincott Procedures*. Gives access to evidence-based nursing procedure guidance tailored to New Zealand DHBs and retirement hospitals.
Lippincott Journal Collection. Holds over 25 premium journals, one of the leading sources of scholarly medical, nursing, and health science information.
Nursing Reference Center Plus. Provides evidence-based information for point of care, continuing education, nursing skills, drug information and nursing practice.
PubMed. Indexes medical, nursing and health care articles. Contains citations and author abstracts with links to some free full text articles.
* not searchable via the Search Everything filter
Covarrubias-Gómez, A., & Collada-Estrada, M. L. (2017). Propofol-based palliative sedation to treat antipsychotic-resistant agitated delirium. Journal of Pain & Palliative Care Pharmacotherapy, 31(3-4), 190-194. https://doi.org/10.1080/15360288.2017.1315476
Coyle, N. (2006). The hard work of living in the face of death. Journal of Pain and Symptom Management, 32(3), 266-274. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jpainsymman.2006.04.003
Gott, M., Frey, R., Wiles, J., Rolleston, A., Teh, R., Moeke-Maxwell, T., & Kerse, N. (2017). End of life care preferences among people of advanced age: LiLACS NZ. BMC Palliative Care, 16, Article 76. https://doi.org/10.1186/s12904-017-0258-0
Sims-Gould, J., Wiersma, E., Arseneau, L., Kelley, M. L., Kozak, J., Habjam, S., & MacLean, M. (2010). Care providers’ perspectives on end-of-life care in long term care homes: Implications for whole person and palliative care. Journal of Palliative Care, 26(2), 122-129. https://doi.org/10.1177/082585971002600208
Friend, M. L. (2011). Physician-assisted suicide: Death with dignity? Journal of Nursing Law, 14(3/4), 110-114. https://doi.org/10.1891/1073-7472.14.3.4.110
Lau, R., & O'Connor, M. (2012). Behind the rhetoric: Is palliative care equitably available for all? Contemporary Nurse, 43(1), 56-63. https://doi.org/10.5172/conu.2012.43.1.56
De Souza, E. S., & De Souza, M. B. (2013). Valuing communication for effective nursing leadership in nursing practice. International Journal of Nursing Care, 1(2), 63-67. https://doi.org/10.5958/j.2320-8651.1.2.036
Ferris, F. D., Gomez-Batiste, X., & Connor, S. (2007). Implementing quality palliative care. Journal of Pain and Symptom Management, 33(5), 533-541. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jpainsymman.2007.02.033
Hut-Mossel, L., Welker, G., Ahaus, K., & Gans, R. (2017). Understanding how and why audits work: Protocol for a realist review of audit programmes to improve hospital care. BMJ Open, 7(6), Article e015121. https://doi.org/10.1136/bmjopen-2016-015121
Iupati, S. (2022). Community specialist palliative care services in New Zealand: A survey of Aotearoa hospices. New Zealand Medical Journal, 135(1566), 36-48.
Singhal, M., Kapoor, A., Bagri, P., Singh, D., Nirban, R., Kumar, N., & Kumar, H. (2014). Analysis of sociodemographic parameters of patients admitted in a newly established palliative care center in a regional cancer institute of north-west India. Indian Journal of Palliative Care, 20(3), 220-223. https://doi.org/10.4103/0973-1075.138399
Spaner, D., Caraiscos, V. B., Muystra, C., Furman, M. L., Zaltz-Dubin, J., Wharton, M., & Whitehead, K. (2017). Use of standardized assessment tools to improve the effectiveness of palliative care rounds: A quality improvement initiative. Journal of Palliative Care, 32(3-4), 134-140. https://doi.org/10.1177/0825859717740051
Arias, J. M. C. (2017). Genogram: tool for exploring and improving biomedical and psychological reasearch. International Journal of Psychological Research, 10(2), 6-7. https://doi.org/10.21500/20112084.3177
Applebaum, A. J., Farran, C. J., Marziliano, A. M., Pasternak, A. R., & Breitbart, W. (2014). Preliminary study of themes of meaning and psychosocial service use among informal cancer caregivers. Palliative & Supportive Care, 12(2), 139-148. https://doi.org/10.1017/S1478951513000084
Badger, S., Macleod, R., & Honey, A. (2016). "It's not about treatment, it's how to improve your life":The lived experience of occupational therapy in palliative care. Palliative & Supportive Care, 14(3), 225-231. https://doi.org/10.1017/S1478951515000826
De Korte-Verhoef, M. C., Pasman, H. R., Schweitzer, B. P., Francke, A. L., Onwuteaka-Philipsen, B., & Deliens, L. (2014). Burden for family carers at the end of life: A mixed-method study of the perspectives of family carers and GPs. BMC Palliative Care, 13, Article 16. https://doi.org/10.1186/1472-684X-13-16
Diffin, J., Ewing, G., Harvey, G., & Grande, G. (2018). Facilitating successful implementation of a person-centred intervention to support family carers within palliative care: A qualitative study of the carer support needs assessment tool (CSNAT) intervention. BMC Palliative Care, 17, Article 129. https://doi.org/10.1186/s12904-018-0382-5
Gott, M., Allen, R., Moeke-Maxwell, T., Gardiner, C., & Robinson, J. (2015). 'No matter what the cost': A qualitative study of the financial costs faced by family and whanau caregivers within a palliative care context. Palliative Medicine, 29(6), 518-528. https://doi.org/10.1177/0269216315569337
The full text of this journal is available from 2020 to the present. You can set up an alert to have the Table of Contents emailed to you.
Here is a selection of nursing journals. Some require you to log in with your institutional email address and network password (same password as Moodle), others are open access.
To locate articles on a specific topic, see the Finding information and research tab.
Whitireia Journal of Nursing, Health and Social Services is published annually. It has a website where issues from the last 10 years are freely available.
History of name change
Australian Journal of Advanced Nursing
International Journal of Indigenous Health
International Journal of Nursing Studies
International Journal of Nursing Studies Advances
Journal of Indigenous Wellbeing
Journal of Primary Health Care (NZ)
Journal of the Royal Society of New Zealand
New Zealand Journal of Psychology
Nursing Praxis in Aotearoa New Zealand
Palliative Care and Social Practice
A site where you can find specialist palliative care journals. Some journals listed are open access. Otherwise search for the article title in the search box on the library homepage using either the Journal Article or Search Everything filter.
Burke, C., Doody, O., & Lloyd, B. (2023). Healthcare practitioners' perspectives of providing palliative care to patients from culturally diverse backgrounds: A qualitative systematic review. BMC Palliative Care, 22, Article 182. https://doi.org/10.1186/s12904-023-01285-3
Clark, D. (2012). Cultural consideration in planning palliative and end of life care. Palliative Medicine, 26(3), 195-196. https://doi.org/10.1177/0269216312440659
Kidd, J., Black, S., Blundell, R., & Peni, T. (2018). Cultural health literacy: The experiences of Māori in palliative care. Global Health Promotion, 25(4), 15-23. https://doi.org/10.1177/1757975918764111
Muircroft, W. M., McKimm, J., William, L. & MacLeod, R., D. (2010). A New Zealand perspective on palliative care for Māori. Journal of Palliative Care, 26(1), 54-58.
Oetzel, J. G., Simpson, M., Berryman, K., & Reddy, R. (2015). Differences in ideal communication behaviours during end-of-life care for Māori carers/patients and palliative care workers. Palliative Medicine, 29(8), 764-766. https://doi.org/10.1177/0269216315583619
Shahid, S., Taylor, E. V., Cheetham, S., Woods, J. A., Aoun, S. M., & Thompson, S. C. (2018). Key features of palliative care service delivery to Indigenous peoples in Australia, New Zealand, Canada and the Unites States: A comprehensive view. BMC Palliative Care, 17, Article 72. https://doi.org/10.1186/s12904-018-0325-1
Simpson, M. L., McAllum, K., Oetzel, J., Berryman, K., & Reddy, R. (2022). Māori elders’ perspectives of end-of-life family care: Whānau carers as knowledge holders, weavers, and navigators. Palliative Care and Social Practice, 16. https://doi.org/10.1177/26323524221118590
Crossan, D. (2020). Health literacy can improve inequities: Improving health literacy can help bridge health inequities, and also improve the care palliative services provide to maori whanau. Kai Tiaki: Nursing New Zealand, 26(11), 22-26.
Tregoning, C. (2015). Communication skills and enhancing clinical practice through reflective learning: A case study. British Journal of Healthcare Assistants, 9(2), 66–69. https://doi.org/10.12968/bjha.2015.9.2.66
Wong, J. S-H., & Gottwald, M. (2015). Advance care planning discussions in chronic obstructive pulmonary disease: A critical review. Journal of Palliative Care, 31(4), 258-264. https://doi.org/10.1177/082585971503100408
Johns, C. (2009). Journeying with Alice: Some things I don't know for certain. Complementary Therapies in Clinical Practice, 15(3), 133-135. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.ctcp.2009.05.002
Penman, J., Oliver, M., & Harrington, A. (2013). The relational model of spiritual engagement depicted by palliative care clients and caregivers. International Journal of Nursing Practice, 19(1), 39-46. https://doi.org/10.1111/ijn.12035
Stephenson, P. S., & Berry, D. M. (2014). Spirituality and uncertainty at the end of life. Oncology Nursing Forum, 41(1), 33-9. https://doi.org/10.1188/14.ONF.33-39
Falconer, K., Sachsenweger, M., Gibson, K. & Norman, H. (2011). Grieving in the internet age. New Zealand Journal of Psychology, 40(3), 79-88.
Holm, M., Alvariza, A., Fürst, C., Öhlen, J., & Årestedt, K. (2019). Psychometric evaluation of the anticipatory grief scale in a sample of family caregivers in the context of palliative care. Health and Quality of Life Outcomes, 17, Article 42. https://doi.org/10.1186/s12955-019-1110-4
Pereira, S. M., Fonseca, A., & Carvalho, A. S., (2011). Burnout in palliative care: A systematic review. Nursing Ethics, 18(3), 317-326. https://doi.org/10.1177/0969733011398092
Robinson, J., Frey, R., Raphael, D., Old, A., & Gott, M. (2022). Difficulties in navigating the intersection of generalist and specialist palliative care services: A cross‐sectional study of bereaved family's experiences of care at home in New Zealand. Health & Social Care in the Community, 30(1), 133-141. https://doi.org/10.1111/hsc.13381
Scholes, J. (2008). Coping with professional identity crisis: Is building resilience necessary? Journal of Nursing Studies, 45(7), 975-978. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.ijnurstu.2007.12.002
Swetenham, K., Hegarty, M., Breaden, K. & Grbich, C. (2011). Refractory suffering: The impact of team dynamics on the interdisciplinary palliative care team. Palliative & Supportive Care, 9(1), 55-62. https://doi.org/10.1017/S1478951510000544
Bush, T., & Shahwan-Akl, L. (2013). Palliative care education: Does it influence future practice? Contemporary Nurse, 43(2), 172-177. https://doi.org/10.5172/conu.2013.43.2.172
Chidiac, C., Grayson, K., & Almack, K. (2021). Development and evaluation of an LGBT+ education programme for palliative care interdisciplinary teams. Palliaitive Care & Social Practice, 15, 1-10. https://doi.org/10.1177/26323524211051388
Jansen, B. D. W., Brazil, K., Passmore, P., Buchanan, H., Maxwell, D., McIlfatrick, S. J., Morgan, S. M., Watson, M., & Parsons, C. (2017). Exploring healthcare assistants’ role and experience in pain assessment and management for people with advanced dementia towards the end of life: A qualitative study. BMC Palliative Care,16, Article 6. https://doi.org/10.1186/s12904-017-0184-1